Congratulations to our President’s Award Winner and our Coaches of the Year!, News (Milton Minor Hockey)

News Article
News Article Image
May 31, 2022 | Tanya Croke | 386 views
Congratulations to our President’s Award Winner and our Coaches of the Year!
  At last week’s Annual General Meeting, the MMHA Board of Directors was pleased to present its Eric Ellison Memorial Coach of the Year Awards for Rep and House League, and its President’s Award to deserving individuals from our association who have gone above and beyond in their roles.  

The Eric Ellison Memorial House League Coach of the Year Award was presented to Chris Scherer, a U10 and U12 coach whose organizational abilities and his energy were integral to providing a great experience to the players on his teams and his divisions.  Chris has also agreed to join the MMHA Board of Directors as Initiation Program Director, a position where his talents will be leveraged to keep hockey players engaged at a young age.  

This year’s Eric Ellison Memorial Rep Coach of the Year is Gary Stefanov, who was head coach of the U18 AA Winterhawks.  Gary coached his squad to both a Tri-County and an OMHA title and had the honor of representing Milton in the OHF finals.  Gary was able to keep a team of U18’s motivated and performing at the highest level.  

At the end of the evening, Outgoing MMHA President Jeff Diggle presented the President’s Award, also knows as the Volunteer of the Year award to Andrew Sabino.  Andrew is known to many as the MMHA’s timekeeper of record, and was instrumental in helping our season, tournament and Champs Week run smoothly.  Andrew was also present in assisting at tryouts and many other MMHA initiatives.  

“Chris, Gary and Andrew represent everything that is great about our association,” said Diggle.  “Whether it’s looking out for the interests of our new players, keeping our more seasoned players engaged or being the engine that keeps things running, volunteers are the lifeblood of the MMHA.”